Skip to content

Bastiat On The Myth Of The Rational Voter

October 22, 2007

Bryan Caplan says:

“One of the explicit ambitions of my book is to put the libertarian intuitions of the old Chicago School on solid foundations – and put the Panglossian political economy of the modern Chicago School into the dustbin of history.”

In other words, respect the classics…Here is Bastiat on this very theme:

“If only I were His Majesty’s prime minister….!”

“Well, what would you do?”

“I would begin by …. by …. really, by being very much embarrassed. For after all, I should not be prime minister if I did not have a majority; I should not have a majority if I did not win it for myself; I should not have won it for myself, at least by honorable means, if I did not govern according to its ideas….. Thus, if I undertook to make my ideas prevail by opposing those of the majority, I should no longer have a majority; and if I did not have a majority, I should no longer be His Majesty’s prime minister.”

From → Bastiat, Voters

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

