Skip to content

An Arm And A Leg And An Eye

July 11, 2008

I go to the eye-doctor. He says my eyes are red and it looks like I have some allergies. He says there is this great new product that lasts 24 hours etc…I should try it. He gives me a small sample to take home, together with a prescription. I try the sample a few times and it does help, although my eyes feel a bit dry as a consequence. Well, I decide why not, I should fill the prescription. The pharmacist gives me a small bottle: 2.5 mL of olopatadine hydrochloride ophtalmic solution (0.2%), otherwise known as Pataday. Price? 104 US Dollars!! (28 USD with insurance). Wow! I pay the 28 dollars, but I’m shocked. Who do I complain to? The doctor? The pharmacist? The insurance company? There’s nothing really I could do to express my disapproval. So I took the eye-drops home and I decided I won’t used them. It’s my form of civil disobedience. I’d rather scratch my eyes a few times rather then get used to overpriced drops in my eyes with these “common side-effects”: blurred vision, burning, or stinging, change in taste, dryness of the eye, eye pain, feeling that something is in your eye, head congestion, headache, itching, redness in the eye, runny nose, sore throat, tearing, weakness. (And who knows what other unintended effects…).

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

