Skip to content

A Brave New World

July 28, 2009

As our politicians have decided to venture into a “brave new world” dominated by fiscal stimuli in the order of trillions of dollars, in the worlds of an Obama spokesman, “a stimulus big enough to jolt the economy back in track”. “Jolt”??? You mean sort of like electric-shock therapy? Boy, hasn’t the shock-and-awe doctrine been discredited by now?
Anyways, I thought it would be a good occasion for me to read the actual book “A Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley.

Even more reasons to do so come from the fact that in my math genealogy tree I’m a direct descendant of Thomas Huxley, famous Darwin apologist, and grandfather of Aldous Huxley.

Now, I have never like science-fiction although I’m open to change my mind. Generally speaking I find that the single mind of a writer can never quite capture the actual complexity of real worlds. The new worlds that sci-fi novelists create are often too simplistic or contain blaring inconsistencies. This one was no exception. Although it made me think and was entertaining, I had a hard time understanding what it was driving at.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

